Where am I Now ….?

Well, if you’ve read my other pages, you’ll know that my writing life has been pebble-dashed by marriage, children and bringing in enough money to make ends meet.  Unfortunately, like many mothers, writing took its rightful place as a diversion (do I really mean what I’m saying?) and raised its head either in times of pressure (as that diversion) or times of desperate need, when even ten or twenty pounds for the odd published letter would make life easier.

Now that I live in the backwater of Spain and my children are grown up with their own families and still in England, keeping my act together as the ‘woman of my own dreams’ has found stability.  ‘Woman of my dreams’ is not entirely true for, in England, as a working mother, I had little time for my children and grandchildren, due to the pressure of work needed to make ends meet.  Now, semi-retired and living in Spain, I have free time but am too far away from my family to take part in what I would like – a mixture of both family life and writing.

But still, writing is a pleasure and this is where I am:-

  • I have found regular work with three websites and four others on a temporary basis.  The topics are diverse, including disability and ergonomics of which I have an in-depth knowledge and then modular homes, female robots and robotic toys, these three completely alien to me until the research was done.
  • I had a four page spread in my target magazine of Living Spain, an article which also included my photographs.
  • I have been published in a couple of other good magazines (Evergreen Magazine in England and, this month,  the Coal People Magazine in America).
  • I write regular SEO articles for an important customer, writing as many as fifteen a week.
  • I do book reviews.
  • I have sold several articles through the Constant Content content mill.
  • I contribute to my local newspaper back in England and have also contributed to the local newspaper here in Galicia!
  • I have had several letters published in magazines, including one that heralded the star prize

It’s so wonderful to see one’s own words in print, whether on the internet or in a real paper magazine or newspaper, though I must say I do get an extra buzz out of the ones that can be got from the newsagent!

Overall, that’s not bad, is it?

All I can say is ‘watch this space’!

.

Published in: on 06/12/2011 at 10:04 pm  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://denisewatson.wordpress.com/2011/12/06/where-i-am-now/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Your character really comes across in your writing.

    • Thank-you for that, Jacqueline. There’s no point in coming across as someone who you are not – unless you’re writing fiction, of course! That’s something I’ve dabbled with and is to be a future aim. So, watch this space!

      Dee.


Leave a Reply

