‘Entitled’ or ‘Titled’?

Just which one is it?

Is my book ‘entitled’ The Blah Blah Blah or is it ‘titled’ The Blah Blah Blah?

Every time I hear someone say ‘entitled’, I squirm a little inside but, having checked through several writing websites, I see that ‘entitled’ has been the preference over the centuries until recently (ah, so ‘titled’ has been used)

Having looked at what others have to say, I think the best way to go is to reword your sentence (whether spoken or written|) to avoid criticism.  So,  “the title of my book is” or “my book is called”.

That way, you won’t get picked up for displaying an error for all to hear / see … .

Published in: on 26/04/2015 at 2:20 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://denisewatson.wordpress.com/2015/04/26/entitled-or-titled/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

